Registration open for second cohort!

Register now for the second cohort of the CAS in “Sex- and Gender-Specific Medicine” starting in March 2022! In a total of eleven modules – which can also be attended as individual events – the importance of gender for the various medical disciplines will be demonstrated. Participants will learn tools and concepts to provide personalised and evidence-based prophylaxis and therapy for all sex and genders and to design research accordingly.

Register now: Registration form

Important news regarding course language and event organisation

All modules will now be in held in English and are organised as hybrid events (simultaneous online and, if pandemic circumstances permit, onsite)

Following on from feedback received from our key target audience, the programme leadership have decided to implement the following changes:

    • All composite modules of the CAS will be held in English. This makes participation possible for interested persons from all parts of the country as well as from other countries. Depending on the participants and particularly in group work, this can be handled flexibly. In consultation with the supervisors, final written assignments in other languages are also possible.
    • All modules of the CAS will be organised as hybrid events, i.e. simultaneous onsite and online events. In practice, this will mean that, if the Covid-19 situation permits, the modules will take place onsite. In addition, online participation is available for all modules.

Please also note that no previous knowledge in sex- and gender-specific medicine is expected in order to attend the CAS.

We are looking forward to exciting discussions, enriched by the different backgrounds and experiences of the participants.

The impact of sex and gender on COVID-19 outcomes in Europe

Cathérine Gebhard, chair of the scientific programme management of the CAS, published a review on the impact of sex and gender on COVID-19 outcomes in Europe. In collaboration with Sabra Klein, Vera Regitz-Zagrosek, Rosemary Morgan, and Hannelore Neuhauser she discusses potential sex-specific mechanisms modulating the course of disease. The article is published in “Biology of Sex Differences”:  https://rdcu.be/b4sMZ

 

Project to investigate the impact of Sex and Gender on COVID-19-outcomes funded

Prof. Dr. med. Dr. sc. nat. Cathérine Gebhard, chair of the course directors of the CAS in Sex- and Gender-Specific Medicine, investigates the impact of Sex and Gender on COVID-19 outcomes. The Swiss National Foundation supports the project “Impact of Sex and Gender on COVID-19 outcomes: Role of ACE-2, TMPRSS2, and gender-specific risk factors” (Project), submitted by Gebhard together with Prof. Dr. med. Beatrice Beck Schimmer, one of the initiators of the CAS, CAS-lecturer Prof. Dr. med. Dr. h.c. Vera Regitz and colleagues.

The gender disparities observed in COVID-19 vulnerability clearly emphasize the need to understand the impact of sex and gender on incidence and case fatality of the disease so that treatment in highly vulnerable demographic groups can be timely and tailored to their specific needs. The project will combine clinical data from ongoing cohort studies with retrospective experimental work in mice with. This strategy allows rapid analysis of data and implementation of results. The work will identify both, biological sex- and gender-related predictors of severe variants of COVID-19 and has the potential to contribute to the identification of effective antiviral interventions.

 

Sponsored places

Five partially sponsored places are available for the first cohort of the CAS. The program covers 5,000 Swiss francs, and participants must pay the remaining 4,400 Swiss francs. If you are applying for such a place, please explain in your application how you

      • want to apply the acquired knowledge  in your professional life.
      • can act as “ambassador” to increase awareness of gender specific medicine in science and medicine.

If you are interested, please register here.

 

Reduction for PhDs

PhD students receive a 50 percent discount for the entire CAS as well as for the individual modules (please apply under Comments when registering). The costs for PhD students are CHF 4’700 for the whole CAS and CHF 480 for each individual module.

Slides Module Study Design and Research

IKlinge_Gendered Innovations

IKlinge_Measuring

IKlinge_Sex and Gender sensitive medicine

Mariman_Epigenetics sex and gender

Santuccione_Sex and Gender Differences as the Gateway to
Precision Medicine and Susteinability

Schwarz_Measuring Sex and Gender: Conceptual Frameworks

Schwarz_How sex/gender modulates the health of individuals over the lifecourse

Buch_Aspects of sex in animal experiments Lecture & Practicals II

Registration für die zweite Kohorte eröffnet!

Meldet Euch jetzt an für die zweite Kohorte des CAS in Sex- and Gender-Specific Medicine! In insgesamt elf Modulen – die auch als Einzelveranstaltungen besucht werden können – wird ab März 2022 die Bedeutung des Geschlechts für die verschiedenen medizinischen Fachrichtungen aufgezeigt. Die Teilnehmenden lernen Werkzeuge und Konzepte kennen, um allen Geschlechtern eine personalisierte und evidenz-basierte Prophylaxe und Therapie zu bieten und die Forschung entsprechend zu gestalten.

Jetzt registrieren: Anmeldeformular

Neuigkeiten zur Kurssprache und Modulorganisation

Das CAS wird nun in Englisch und als hybride Veranstaltung organisiert (wenn möglich vor Ort, immer aber auch online).

Auf Grund des Feedbacks von interessierten Personen hat die Programmleitung des CAS folgendes beschlossen:

    • Die Kurssprache des CAS ist Englisch. Dies ermöglicht die Teilnahme für interessierte Personen aus allen Landesteilen sowie aus anderen Ländern. Je nach Gruppenzusammensetzung, in Gruppenarbeiten sowie nach Absprache mit den jeweiligen Betreuungspersonen bei den Abschlussarbeiten sind Abweichungen davon möglich.
    • Die erste Durchführung des CAS findet hybrid statt. Das heisst, wenn immer es die jeweilige Covid-19-Situation erlaubt, werden die Module vor Ort durchgeführt. Gleichzeitig ist aber in jedem Fall auch die Online-Teilnahme möglich.

Für den Besuch des CAS werden keine Vorkenntnisse in geschlechtsspezifischer Medizin erwartet. Wir freuen uns auf spannende Diskussionen, bereichert durch die diversen Hintergründe und Erfahrungen der Teilnehmer*innen.

CAS in Sex- and Gender-Specific Medicine in deutschen Medien

Der CAS Studiengang in Sex- and Gender-Specific Medicine ist Thema in den deutschen Medien.

Prof. Dr. med. Dr. sc. nat. Cathérine Gebhard, Vorsitzende der Programmleitung, spricht in einem Radiobericht des Südwestrundfunks (SWR) über die Bedeutsamkeit der Gendermedizin und den Studiengang CAS in Sex- and Gender-Specific Medicine.

https://www.swr.de/swr2/wissen/gendermedizin-studiengang-in-der-schweiz-entsteht-100.html 

Auch die App BR24 des Bayerischen Rundfunks hat gestützt auf ein Interview mit Gebhard in einem Beitrag über die Gendermedizin und den neuen CAS Studiengang in Sex- and Gender-Specific Medicine berichtet.

https://www.br.de/nachrichten/deutschland-welt/schweiz-plant-studiengang-gendermedizin,S2Cd1T4

 

Einfluss des Geschlechts auf COVID-19 Erkrankungen in Europa

Die Vorsitzende der Programmleitung des CAS, Cathérine Gebhard, hat einen Review zum Einfluss des Geschlechts auf COVID-19 Erkrankungen in Europa publiziert. In Zusammenarbeit mit Sabra Klein, Vera Regitz-Zagrosek, Rosemary Morgan und Hannelore Neuhauser diskutiert sie darin mögliche geschlechtsspezifische Mechanismen, die den Verlauf der Erkrankung beeinflussen. Der Review ist erschienen im Journal «“Biology of Sex Differences”:  https://rdcu.be/b4sMZ.

 

Projekt zur Untersuchung der Auswirkungen von «Sex» und «Gender» auf die Ergebnisse von COVID-19 wird unterstützt

Prof. Dr. med. Dr. sc. nat. Cathérine Gebhard, Programmleitungsvorsitzende des CAS in geschlechtsspezifischer Medizin, untersucht den Einfluss von «Sex» und «Gender» auf den Verlauf von COVID-19. Der Schweizerische Nationalfonds unterstützt das Projekt «Impact of Sex and Gender on COVID-19 outcomes: Role of ACE-2, TMPRSS2, and gender-specific risk factors» (https://data.snf.ch/covid-19/snsf/196140), das Gebhard zusammen mit Prof. Dr. med. Beatrice Beck Schimmer, einer der Initiantinnen des CAS sowie CAS-Dozentin Prof. Dr. med. Dr. h.c. Vera Regitz und weiteren Kolleginnen und Kollegen eingereicht hat.

Die bei COVID-19 beobachteten geschlechtsspezifischen Unterschiede machen deutlich, wie wichtig es ist, die Auswirkungen von «Sex» und «Gender» auf Inzidenz und Verlauf der Krankheit zu verstehen. Nur so kann die Behandlung in den verschiedenen demografischen Gruppen rechtzeitig und auf die spezifischen Bedürfnisse zugeschnitten erfolgen. Das Projekt wird klinische Daten aus laufenden Kohorten mit den Resultaten aus Tierversuchen  kombinieren. Diese Strategie ermöglicht eine rasche Analyse der Daten und die schnelle Umsetzung der Ergebnisse. Die Forschenden wollen geschlechtsbezogene Prädiktoren für schwere Varianten von COVID-19 identifizieren und so zur Identifizierung wirksamer antiviraler Interventionen beitragen.